Mark Slankard Photography

Mark Slankard’s collections beg the phrase “expect the unexpected”.  The first collection I looked at was entitled “Minor Invasions” and included photos of the rooms in a dollhouse with some type of curveball thrown into them.  At first I found them somewhat humorous, and then upon reading his artist statement I noticed the underlying themes of human fears and desires that he was attempting to represent.  Upon looking through the collection again, I found much deeper meaning in each photograph, even if the meaning I came up with was solely my mind’s interpretation.  I feel that his goal is to make the viewer think about what they are looking at, and to make them question what lies beneath the surface instead of keeping their thoughts and opinions at a superficial level.

Photo by Mark Slankard. Presented by photo student.

Photo by Mark Slankard. Presented by photo student.

The themes of domestic violence and natural disaster are represented in the above photos.  Both are human fears, though one is made possible by the hand of man, and the other is the hand of nature.  I made a connection between the two photos by way of the word “chance” and the thought that no man or woman enters into a relationship knowing for a fact that the person they are with is not a violent person.  When you take a chance on someone, you hope for the best.  As with natural disasters, no one buys a home knowing full well that will never experience a flood, a tornado or an earthquake.  Life is a game of chance and I think both of these photos depict that idea.

The next collection I looked at was entitled “curb appeal” and upon first viewing the images I believed them all to be miniature versions of houses and am still not fully convinced that they are not.  I first assumed this because while they look like miniatures, Slankard’s first collection was one of a dollhouse, and my assumptions got the best of me.

Photo by Mark Slankard. Presented by photo student.

Photo by Mark Slankard. Presented by photo student.

Photo by Mark Slankard. Presented by photo student.

For more of Slankard’s work visit: http://www.markslankard.com/portfolios.html

As always I am RJ, and this is just something to think about…

Leave a comment

Filed under photography

Leave a Reply

