Jan von Holleben Photography

I am beyond obsessed with the work of Jan von Holleben, specifically his collection entitled “dreams of flying”.  The collection is ingeniously crafted, using an aerial view of the subjects who are put in situations such as the following:

Photo by Jan von Holleben. Presented by photo student.

Photo by Jan von Holleben. Presented by photo student.

Photo by Jan von Holleben. Presented by photo student.

I absolutely love the creativity of this project.  The photos he has created honestly leave me almost speechless simply due to their level of cleverness.  I love that he is able to use everyday items to recreate seemingly lifelike but miniature versions of situations and events.  I also love that they are situations that are interpreted differently through the use of children.  It makes me wonder if he allowed the children’s imaginations to play a role in the end result of the photographs or if they were solely his creative genius.

I can get lost in Holleben’s work and not notice the time going by, and the same goes for his website.  He has completed and posted so many different collections that it’s hard to run out of images to look at.  I found myself laughing hysterically at his clever use of a mirror in his collection entitled “my army of monsters” to create “monsters” simply by positioning people in a certain way.

Photo by Jan von Holleben. Presented by photo student.

Some of Holleben’s other work includes a series of people’s necks, and another series of belly buttons.  He also has a series of people in prayer positions.  While these collections are all simple in composition, they are still very interesting to look at.  His use of angles in his project entitled “snowbed” literally make me want to jump up and down with excitement, as they are so interestingly crafted and posed:

Photo by Jan von Holleben. Presented by photo student.

Another of my favorite collections by Holleben is the one entitled “where we laughed”.  Holleben describes this collection as places that call people together, to a romance.

Photo by Jan von Holleben. Presented by photo student.

Photo by Jan von Holleben. Presented by photo student.

Photo by Jan von Holleben. Presented by photo student.

These are three of my favorite images from this particular collection.  All of the images he presents in this collection are all very real, I can imagine the events he wants me to think took place in these settings.  I enjoy the fact that he included no people, just an aftermath of thrown clothing, and mussed sheets.  I understand what he is trying to convey without seeing anything taking place.  I think these images are beautiful in composition and really draw me in.

The rest of Holleben’s work can be found here: http://www.janvonholleben.com/

As always, I’m RJ and this my meaningless closing statement.

1 Comment

Filed under photography

One response to “Jan von Holleben Photography

  1. love the photography. so unique and fun. great post dollface =)

Leave a Reply

