Nostalgia.

Have you ever tried and tried and tried in vain to recall something from your childhood?  You search your house high and low for clues that could jog your memory, type key words and phrases vigorously into your favorite search engine, hoping and praying that something will match anything even closely resembling what you’re looking to find?  And yet, at the end of the day, you turn up empty handed?  For years, this has been a problem I’ve faced.  I’ve tried to no avail to figure out the name of a video that pretty much defined my childhood.  I could remember the plot as if I had watched it every single day.  I closed my eyes and saw the scenes playing out, all the time growing more and more frustrated the longer I tried to recall information that I had clearly lost.  Or so I thought.

Every so often when I have some time to kill my mind wanders back to my preschool – yes, preschool – days, and I think about the videos my teacher would show us.  They were colorful and engaging, with songs that I can still remember.  The only things that always eluded me, were the names of the videos.  Until today!  Today I said “enough is enough, this is ridiculous.”  I searched Google like no one’s business for one video in particular, using phrases such as “colorful 90’s kid’s movies” and “kid’s sing-along 90’s movies”.  And finally; there it was.  In all it’s glory.  A link with the EXACT question I was asking, that came fully equipped with an answer, and a link to Youtube.  I couldn’t believe it.  I was so excited I almost couldn’t click – oh, who am I kidding? I clicked that Youtube link faster than you could say “nostalgia”.  And there it was: video 1 of 11 of “Wee Sing in Sillyville”.  Dude, don’t judge me I was two, three, four years old at this point, okay?

I’m 19 years old.  I’m a sophomore in college.  And I sat and watched 11 five to seven minute Youtube videos containing my once favorite childhood video.  And in no way was I ashamed.  As I watched I realized all of the details I had remembered were actually so vague.  I barely remembered the video for what it actually was.  The lesson in this video is so apparent to me now as a 19 year old, but I could see how the message would be lost in a sea of pretty colors, songs and dancing when shown to a mere toddler.  The short little bit of my time that I gave up today was so worth it and while there are still nameless videos stored away in my brain, I know I can rest easy tonight knowing that if I found one, I can surely find the rest.

I’m RJ, and this is just something I’ve been thinking about.

Wee Sing in Sillyville

Wee Sing in Sillyville

Leave a comment

Filed under Just for fun

Leave a Reply

