Life’s tough, kid…get a helmet.

Sometimes I wonder what’s waiting out there in the real world for me.  I was that kid from a sheltered upbringing who went to Catholic school all my life and found out what most things meant via conversations had on the morning school bus ride.  I have no siblings, unless you count my numerous cousins who treat me as such, but growing up I had no one in my house that was close to my age to ask my questions, I had to wait and hope that someone else would be asking them just as I was listening.  So here I am, 19 years later, two and a half years away from graduating college, the so called “real world” staring me in the face.  People say it’s pretty mean out there, well I’ll tell those people something: it’s pretty mean in here too.

I’ve noticed in the past few years especially, that nothing will be handed to you, you’ve got to do things for yourself.  If there’s one thing I learned from my dad growing up it’s that you’ve got to make your own breaks, because you can bet that no one will give you one.  This valuable piece of advice has made me somewhat stronger even during daily activities.  I apply his reasoning when I need to take initiative to go out and do things for myself, even when I don’t want to.  I’ve learned that in life, you’ll be handed the short end of more sticks than you can even hold and the only thing you can do is smile and take them.  Things are going to happen that you have no control over and you’ll sit and wonder why – but stop.  Stop wondering why things happen or why things aren’t what you want or expected and take the initiative to change them.  It can be done.

This almost sounds like a pep talk to me, from me.  I guess you could say I’m a sissy sometimes.  Other’s would and sometimes I’ll even admit it myself.  Sometimes I whine about things, and sometimes I complain, but don’t we all?  Have you ever just sat and wallowed in self pity?  It seems to be a trend in the lives of me and the people around me lately.  I wonder how much of it is just us whining, when there are so many worse things that could be happening.  I mean, at least we have each other…  So next time you want to wallow in self pity or complain about how hard life is, just remember there is someone out there who has it worse than you.  Yes life is tough, but only if you let it be.  You are the leader of your own life, so lead it.

By the way, what is the “real world” anyway?  Isn’t it just a grown up version of the kid world?  So what if we take out the “growing up” part, and everyone just stays a kid at heart.  I once heard Ellen Degeneres talking about a giant game of tag in one of her stand up acts.  The game consisted of one person tagging a random stranger on the street and all of a sudden it broke out in a huge game being played by business men with briefcases and commuters with backpacks.  Whether it was just a joke or not is beside the point.  Just imagine that scene for a second, you know you wish you could see that happen in real life, or even make it happen.  I know I do.  And that is what leads me to believe that if we all just stop “growing up” and worrying about the real world, and things we have no control over and we simply keep our inner children alive, life would be so much better wouldn’t it?

I guess I’ll wait and see…I’m still RJ, and this is just something to think about.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Life’s tough, kid…get a helmet.

  1. Pingback: I’ve been letting my photos speak for me for far too long now. | RJ's Blog

Leave a Reply

